Some people believe that violence on television and in computer games has a damaging effect on the society. Others deny that these factors have any significant influence in people’s behavior. What is your opinion?

Some individuals argue that violence and crime shown on television and in computer games have a negative influence on society, while others believe it depends more on people’s character. In my view, people’s personalities are the main factor, which I will outline in the following essay. On the one hand, watching shows or playing games with a lot of violence can cause problems with understanding what violence really is and the value of human life. Children cannot fully separate what they see on TV from real life due to their childish naivety. For instance, in 2013, when GTA 5 was released, many mothers panicked about the behavior of their children, because the game scenario was about crimes, murders, and killings. Some even claimed that the number of violent incidents in the streets increased as a result. On the other hand, if a person’s personality is stable, it cannot be changed after just a few hours of playing games or watching films. After years, we can see the overall picture of this situation, and most of the stories from those mothers were simply exaggerated or used as a scenario for TV programs. It was also a marketing strategy for advertisement. For example, I played a lot of games where characters died and also watched violent films, but I did not feel any difference in my own behavior. I have always been a calm and happy person, and I continue to be so. In conclusion, it is clear that neither computer games nor television is the main reason for violence. Moreover, they can even be a source of pleasure. However, I believe violent content should only be available for people who are old enough, because a child’s brain cannot clearly separate virtual reality from real life.