Writing Samples / Band 4.5 Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

A growing number of countryside inhabitants, in this century, have started to settle in urban communities. Indeed, they are pursuing to enhance their living conditions by guaranteeing better education and healthcare for their youngsters. From my standpoint, this is a major drawback as national economies depend significantly on the rural productive workforce. To begin with, a common opinion in villages that is cities are a dreamland where the convenient life is found. The shortage in schooling and the scarcity of clinical staff push numerous households to abandon their communities. In fact, they look for an urban or a suburban region where services are fairly distributed. This issue is widely noticed in developing countries. For example, in India most families are involved in inland migration from remote areas to metropolitants such as Bangalore to improve the educational attainment of their children. Nevertheless, the national economy is the prime loser in this situation. The lack of labour caused by this movement results in a huge decrease in nutritional production. As a result, governments start importing agricultural products from overseas, and that imposes additional burdens on the treasury. For instance, in Sudan, the increase in city's population led to a remarkable descend in cultivated areas of beans, the staple food in Sudan, consequently, the country lived in nutritional crisis for several years. Youths of rural areas are the driving force for the total income, hence the well-being of the nation. To conclude, rural families generally move to cities searching for welfare and leaving behind a huge gap to be filled by officials. A possible solution is to distribute public services equally to satisfy all citizens.