IELTS Many people believe that music is just a form of entertainment, whilst others believe that music has a much larger impact on society today. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that songs are only a way of entertaining themselves, while others say that nowadays, music can affect society significantly. While songs have an impact on the community by changing social and political problems, I believe they are just a way for relaxing and killing time. On the one hand, music is a means of social and political change. Musicians can open their fans' eyes to phenomena against human rights globally, or even wars that no one is talking about, through their songs. As a result, social media would start discussing the issue and launching campaigns to force authorities to take action. For example, in 1969, John Lennon released a song called 'Give Peace a Chance'. The song addressed the struggle that the Vietnamese people were going through in the Vietnam War, and it made a lot of US citizens join the movement against the war. As a matter of fact, the song itself became the official anthem of the movement. However, I believe that music doesn't have that much influence on people, and this song is something exceptional, and we are more likley that we won't see anything like it again. On the other hand, music is a means of enjoyment and relaxation. People want to hear joyful songs that can separate them from reality and can lighten their mood when they are going through hard times and just forget about the songs afterwards. For instance, I only listen to music while I am driving because I want to kill time, and I don't care about the lyrics as long as it sounds good to me. I believe that this school of thought is preferable because many people are listening to songs about gangs and drugs but they will not really get affected by them because it is just for fun nothing more. In conclusion, while music can positively influence people by raising awareness of the tragic events occurring around the world, I believe that most individuals simply wish to listen and enjoy themselves, as they already experience enough stress in their lives.