Some people believe that there will be a reduction in air travel in the future. Do you think that this trend is a positive or negative development.

Nowadays, travelling by air has become prevalent. However, some people suggest that it will be reduced in the future. In my opinion, it would be a positive trend, as there will be a reduction of sources of pollution if that truly happens. For many years, the aviation industry has produced enormous amounts of hazardous pollution in the air, exacerbating climate change. By burning fossil fuels, harmful emissions, such as carbon dioxide, are released into the atmosphere and warm the planet. Accordingly, icebergs melt at an ever faster speed, resulting in less ice for wildlife to stand on. Additionally, the rising sea level also threatens the future of island countries and cities such as Venice, Italy, which is surrounded by water. The reduction in air travel can definitely mitigate the stress they are facing. On the other hand, fewer airlines unfortunately also lead to some issues. Financial recession is one of the problems that particular nations, where their economies rely heavily on tourism, fear. For instance, Dubai has invested exorbitant funds on transforming their main financial means from exploring natural resources to attracting more tourists in recent years. If tourist numbers declined significantly due to the reduction in airlines, their efforts would be in vain, and they would probably face serious financial hardship. Moreover, air travel provides individuals chances to broaden their horizon, develop new friendships, and foster cultural understanding. Without it, people are forced to learn foreign culture by secondhand information. In conclusion, from an environmental perspective, cutting down air travel is absolutely beneficial. Although it might cause an unstable economy, the fact that it can potentially save the lives of both humans and animals and slow global warming makes me believe it is a positive trend.