Many things can influence the academic achievement and emotional growth of a student. In this regard, peers have more of an impact than teachers do. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent years, the question of whether students are more influenced by their classmates or educators has been widely debated. While some contend that teachers can foster learners' emotional and academic skills, I strongly believe that a peer's impact is more effective. To begin with, peers have common interests and experiences. Adolescents often face the same academic and emotional challenges, allowing them to relate to one another. For example, when classmates have the same mathematics exam, they motivate each other by studying together, sharing resources, and discussing topics, all of which are considered easier for them to comprehend the test materials compared to a structured lecture from a teacher. Moreover, students often observe peers ' achievements and struggles, thus motivating them to strive to reach the same level and success. Furthermore, peers significantly shape a student's attitude, habits, and social development, which can be seen in academic performance as well. Young people are highly sensitive to peer approval and may adjust their behaviour to fit into a group. For instance, a 2020 study in the United States found that 77% of adolescents were socially affected by their classmates, with either positive outcomes, such as high self-esteem, excellent grades, and good manners, or negative consequences from bullying. Nevertheless, the strength of peers ' influence is much stronger than that of authorities who have limited control over academic and emotional contexts. To conclude, although educators can have certain effects, I am convinced that students are more vulnerable to those of their age in terms of school achievement and personal growth.