Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recently, there has been a widespread discussion regarding the issue of information sharing. Some people believe it is beneficial to share all the available things of research, business and academic world, while others confirm that people should be charged for valuable information. I am inclined to believe that people should pay for the important information. One the one hand, somebody confirm that opening the information access right is beneficial for people to do further research. As more useful information shared directly, scientists or researchers can do deeper explorations base on the knowledge and data provided by the previous research, which can save a lot of time and resources. For instance, over 95% of the articles published by journals have more than 100 citations, which not only helped to prove their thoughts, but also provided strong data evidence. As a result, sharing more information is helpful for a country’s academic development. On the other hand, some people hold a perspective that important information should be chargeable to protect the confidential data, especially the internal data of a company. Some research and information are highly connected with the core competency and competitive advantage of a corporation, which have a significant impact on the revenue and turnover. That is the reason why many companies only share part of their information and data freely to the public. Therefore, sharing important information is not worthwhile for many entities. In my perspective, getting every information without payment is unfair to the authors. Each research result or output they got is worthy for some money because they made a lot of efforts to finish them. Therefore, I confirm that important information should charge people who want to read it. In conclusion, some people believe that more information be shared is better, while others hold the opposite. I strongly agree with the opinion that people should be charged when trying to read significant information.