Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Recently, people were discussing about whether the authority should pay more money on railways than roads. I strongly disagree with that. I am inclined to believe that both railways and roads are important infrastructures for cities. First, railway and road hold the same importance in a city ’s economic and social development. In perspective of economic, both railway and roads are main transportations of traveling and transacting. Railways are mainly used between different cities and roads are definitely the way people go through different places in a city. For instance, when goods are delivered from one city to another, they are firstly be transferred by trains, which depend on railways, then will be delivered by cars, which run on roads. Therefore, railways and roads are both important for a city ’s development, governments should invest them similarly. Second, if only spent money on railways, citizens’ satisfaction will decrease rapidly. If the quality of roads is not good, there will appear more traffic problems. For example, frequent traffic jam will make employees’ commuting time much longer, which can highly decrease city dwellers’ satisfaction. What’s more, traffic accidents could also lead to security problems, more citizens will feel disappointed by the low efficiency of transportation and high accident rate. As a result, if governments only spend money on railways, there will be many safety problems and lower citizen satisfaction. In conclusion, governments should balance the money they spend on railways and roads, because both are significant transportations for a city, highly related to the development of economics and society. If only focus on railways, the transporting efficiency will keep low.