Some people say that history offers no practical benefit to society while others claim that history teaches us to understand the present. Discuss both views and give your own opinion .

History may or may not offer practical benefits to society as to understand the present moment. History shares all the events in life such as political events, religious events and scientific events... etc. we learn it from schools or from our family members telling us about our great grandparents. that itself is a form of history. Some say that history doesn’t benefit us in many ways. They might say why should I learn about ‘how this happened’ or ‘why it happened’ and ‘who killed who’ these are not important in society and that we should not look at the past and do the same as our ancestors. We should be our own person and make our own history. On the other hand, others say that to be better and stronger than before we should look at the history of our people and learn from their mistakes and successes and get to understand how everything evolved around us. Who was the mastermind behind it? These questions intrigue them In my opinion, we should learn about our history so we can improve it and add more to it and for the future generations to do the same. It’s the only way we can evolve as humans. if we had not looked through in the past we would have still been cave men who only worried about surviving. In summary, we ought to look at history to learn from it and add our own scientific discoveries to improve it not to copy it nonsensically