Options vary on whether students should take a gap year before going into higher education. Discuss the possible advantages and disadvantages of taking a year out. Do you believe that taking a gap year is a good idea?

There has been an ongoing debate on the fact, that the children should take a break before persuing their higher studies. Some people agree to this point because it gives them enough time to realise their field of interest, whereas others disagree as it can disconnect them from their education. I strongly believe that taking a gap is not a good idea, and I will explicate my point in the essay below. To commence with, some individuals consider it favourable for them to take a time off from the studies because it offers them time to discover their interests. When a kid is studying continuously, they are too busy to realise, which subject they want to develop their career in. However, taking a gap offers them opportunity to explore various fields, and make a calculated decision, rather than a mechanical one. For example, Sushant Singh Rajput, a well known Indian actor, wanted to be an engineer at first. However, he decided to be an actor, when he took a break from his studies after completing his graduation, and discovering his keen interest in acting. On the contrary, there is also a disadvantage of taking a break from the education. There are thousands of distractions available in the society that prevents a person from re-indulging in studies, once they break off from it. Therefore, this causes them to disconnect from their classes, thus endangering their future. Moreover, sometimes taking a break confuses a child as they find themselves in a dilemma of, whether to study further or not. For instance, most of the children who drop out of their high schools, hardly go back to the institute, and hence either end up at low-wages jobs or doing illegal activities. Conclusively, I believe that there are both advantages and disadvantages of taking a break from the studies. It is good to take some time-off since it helps in self-discovery and finding one's favourite subject for a better career, but at the same time if the gap is too long, it will disconnect a kid from their studies, and will divert their focus from completing education. However, a limited time of difference between high school and professional studies is considered safe because it will only encourage a child to clear the mind for further educational persuit, without any risk of losing interest.