Consumers are faced with an increasing number of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think consumers are influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

In this day and age, whether we want it or not, we are constantly bobared with advertisements in every occasion have faced media. Companies try to adopt competitive strategies to make more profits. I think there is no way for people to not being influenced by ads, but there are some steps to be taken to mitigate its effects. It is evident that growing number of various ads represent how much they have been able to influence people’ mindset. Two indicators that show the effects of ads are consumerism and changing in standard of living. First, consumerism. People in each situation of their daily routine activities face with different ads which can turn to people ’s needs. As a result, even though people mostly do not need them but under the effects of the ads, purchase them, thereby regularly growing the consumerism phenomena. Furthermore, these ads have greatly transformed standards of living by creating unrealistic standards. In other words, many people consider the contents of ads as a standard of their life and try their best to achieve. To put the case into perspective, standard of beauty in recent years among youngsters have changed and they use many products which cost an arm and a leg, to become similar to those who perform those ads. This trend not only put financially pressure on the young generation, but also change their viewpoints towards standard of living. However, there are some approaches can be adopted to mitigate the societal repercussions of this contemporary phenomena. For one, the government have to monitor and constrain the ads carefully, especially those which targeting teenagers and children. Take fast foods ads as an example. The increasing consumption of fast foods among teenagers would result in high rate of obesity that is a serious problem and it can be controlled by the governments actions. Moreover, schools and universities can take substantial part to announce students to become aware of the hidden side effects of ads. If students know about the repercussions, they are less likely to be influenced by ads while watching cosmos ads. Finally, it would be great if those companies have more ads on social media, they would be forced to pay more taxes. Therefore, government and educational system can play a key role to reduce the effects of ads. To sum up, undoubtedly, we cannot stay away from the effects of ads on our lifestyle but it might be mitigate the amount of their effects through educating young generation and exert some constraints on companies.