In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many countries, children are taught some cultures that they can achieve anything as long as they work hard and persist in their goals. While this message can bring various stress and unmet expectations, once this message can also boost negative mental and physical issues if they can not reach their expected goals. On the one hand, from the advantageous prospects, if children receive a lot of support from their parents and teachers from a young age, it will boost their motivation and confidence to explore various kinds of knowledge. For example, children are often curious about different industries such as mathematics, geography and astronomy. They can understand they are recognised and supported if they are told they can achieve anything, which really helps them concentrate on these industries and achieve good development and scores. In this way, when they grow up, some children will become good and professional mathematics teachers to teach the next generations with high passion. On the other hand, from the disadvantageous aspects, when a child is always told they can achieve anything, it means he or she has to reach their goals, which brings much stress. Once, when they put in a great deal of effort to accomplish their goals, but ultimately fail, this will cause them to experience a strong sense of frustration and self-doubt. Consequently, this will let them encounter mental health problems. Besides, when they grow up to develop a romantic relationship with others and then face being rejected, some of them cannot accept this reality, which may lead them to commit crimes or even take their own lives. In summary, I hope people can not only support their children but also tell them the truth and reality to bravely face any failure when they educate children as individuals. Because success or failure is really common for each person.