There is an increasing trend around the world of married couples deciding not to have children, Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for couple who decide to do this.

Undoubtedly, with society evolving, the DINK lifestyle has become a controversial issue. Whereas some people look upon living without children as an approach to reduce social responsibility, others argue that it will cause some adverse effects. As for my perspective, I am in favor of the latter, and the reasons will be elaborated on thoroughly as follows. An array of causes may lead to why having no kids nowadays seems to be advantageous. To begin with, the decision of living without kids reduces daily stress and responsibility for young couples, giving more privacy and freedom to plan their life and quality time together. In other words, since they don’t need to take care of children, they may focus more on themselves to discuss and maintain their relationship. Moreover, as educational fees become higher, without costs linked to parenting might reduce their financial stress, couples can pay more attention on their personal goals. Take my cousin sister as an example, after giving birth, the factor she considers most of a job changing from future development and welfare to salaries, which means that earning money to take care of the kid becomes the priority. On the other hand, as far as I am concerned, having children may truly bring more benefits to both individuals and governments. Primarily, possible loneliness and the phenomenon to lack of help in old age will increase. In other words, as people age, they need more immediate medical assistance, and without the help of their children, their lives are more vulnerable. Furthermore, if fewer children are born, the working-age population will shrink, leading to a smaller tax base, making it difficult to support pensions, healthcare, and other welfare systems. For example, South Korea currently records one of the world’s lowest fertility rates at 0.8. Experts estimate that by 2035, the shrinking workforce could reduce annual tax income by almost 20%, which would severely undermine the country’s ability to maintain its social welfare system. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned, I am firmly convinced that having children is the better decision for individuals and society due to the lack of help in old age and the threat to the social welfare system.