Today, many people rely on the internet to diagnose and cure their own health problems instead of seeing a doctor. Why is this happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, a number of people depend on the internet to diagnose and cure their health problems as an alternative to seeing a doctor. This can be due to the worldwide availibility of the internet and people not trusting doctors no more. In my view, I think that this is a negative development as the internet tends to exaggerate with the diagnosis and sometimes provide misinformation. The most obvious reason for reliance on the internet, is its ease of access. You can be anywhere in the world, provided if you have any signals, you can access the internet and ask your queries. In a lot of rural areas, there is access to the net; however, the same can't be said about healthcare facilities. This combination, forces individuals to rely more on the web. In Pakistan, it was found that rural areas like Tang and parts of Dera Ismail Khan had insufficient health facilities, hence they relied on the web more. Another reason for this trend is the bad reputation doctors get. Nowadays, it is quite common to see conspiracy theories about doctors and the help they provide. For instance, during the outbreak of the coronavirus, a lot of people hesitated to get vaccines; as they thought it contained materials that worsen an individual's health. In addition, a number of people suggest that they are no need for doctors as our ancestors had survived without such help. This growing dissatisfaction against doctors has caused people to rely on the net. In conclusion, Conspiracy theories and the wide reach of the internet have resulted in people depending on it. While this may have some benefits, I believe this is not a positive development. Since the net can provide people with misinformation that can further degrade ones health. Furthermore, the diagnostic abilities of the internet are inferior and can be exaggerated.