Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentence. Others, however believe better education in crime is the key. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The rate of crime in the modern world has witnessed a significant growth recently. So, how to reduce this rate has become a matter of discussion among different groups. It is believed by a group of individuals that keeping criminals in jail for a longer duration is the ultimate solution, while others have the idea that the fundamental factor is educating people about crime. While both ideas are valid, my view leans toward the latter. Those who are in favor of longer imprisonment of criminals believe that firstly, staying longer period makes criminals far from their normal life. This can teach them the value of a healthy life and, as a result, after being released, these people will not commit a crime. In addition to this, these criminals will be a symbol for other members of society. Hence, normal people will definitely be less willing to engage in criminal acts when they know they will have to be in prison for many years. Moreover, when offenders who commit serious crimes like murder are sentenced by the authorities for a long-term period, not only is the probability of reoffending for horrible crimes reduced, but also the security of society is increased. On the other hand, advocates of educating in crime think that we have to consider educational reform to place this topic in it. Therefore, we can teach our children during their school days about the crimes and the different consequences. Consequently, they will try to avoid that, and a safer society will be seen in the future. Another factor which should not be underestimated is that all the training can help children to prevent any conflicts, and their resilient behavior will improve during difficulties. Thus, this has created a utopia. Furthermore, these lessons will be conveyed to the families, and they will understand that if they have this experience in their lives, other family members will reject them. Because of this, these behaviors will be removed dramatically from different families, and the rate of crime will drop to the lowest level. For this reason, families will transfer this great culture to the next generation. In conclusion, despite the fact that keeping offenders longer in prisons can have several effects on criminals and other people in society, having educational plans for this issue can change the culture, and it will make the world to better place. I recommend organizing free seminars alongside education in schools to make them more effective.