A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problem if it is not managed correctly. Do you think that benefits of tourism outweigh it's drawbacks?

Tourism goes back to the 17th century, when people started travelling from one region to another. Some thought it was a means of making money, while others thought it was causing issues in their societies. Both opinions are relevant, but I believe that tourism is a main source of revenue to any country. This will be elaborated in the paragraphs below. One major benefit of tourism is the creation of job opportunities. When there is a rise in tourism in a nation, the availability of jobs increases. Furthermore, tourism gives businessmen the opportunity to establish their companies in various countries and merge with local businesses. For example, Nike building a branch in the USA, this will boost their employment rate and the overall growth of the country. Another benefit is infrastructure development. It fosters infrastructure improvement because the revenue generated can be used to improve local amenities like roads, hospitals, and railways. This will boost the services rendered to the people. Admittedly, one of the key issues faced by tourism is insecurity. Due to the access granted to tourists, they can commit a crime, influence people and disrupt the peace of the country. Many countries have fallen victim to these insecurities due to tourism. A typical example is the September 11 attack, which was caused by a person who came to the USA on a tourist visa. This bombing caused a lot of distress in the nation: A lot of people died, lost their jobs and became mentally unstable. It also destroyed the building and roads. Also, the introduction of bad behaviour(smoking, drinking and drugs) by tourists to the locals will have a negative influence on the growth and development of the town. In conclusion, both views are relevant; however, I strongly believe the benefit of tourism outweighs the risk, and the only way to reduce the risk is if the government adopt strict rules on travel. This will ensure the safety of its citizens