Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Although stricter traffic regulations are often proposed to reduce the number of accidents, some argue that the legal age of drivers should be raised. I strongly disagree with this view because this practice does not address all the dangerous causes; however, other measures are often considered more effective. Raising the legal age may promote confidence and quick decision-making skills, which can significantly improve the security of the public. However, some older drivers are still involved in drink and drive offences and impaired driving. Therefore, this action can not be considered the most effective solution. The most effective approach is enhanced driving classes and practical training, as this helps drivers to gain valuable experience. They will build the essential skills such as maintaining distance between vehicles and understanding the traffic rules, which is a comprehensive attitude for being a skilful driver. For example, those individuals who have graduated from licensed driving schools often cause fewer accidents than other drivers. As a result, the educational part is very necessary to eliminate the root cause of the accidents. In addition to this, increasing the availability and reliability of public transport can greatly improve transportation. If buses and trains are readily accessible on a regular basis, people are more likely to use them frequently. The fewer the private cars on roads, the fewer the collisions there will be, leading to a safe environment for the public. In conclusion, even though increasing the legal age may ameliorate traffic safety, the other alternatives can not be overlooked. Better educational training and enhanced public transport are highly beneficial, which fosters safer accidents.