Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. What problems do it creates? How could this situation be improved?

A lot of small, indigenous shops are being forced to shut down as they are unable to compete with the larger markets in the area. This results in problems like unemployment, and reduced consumer choice. However, these problems can be overcome by providing subsidies and for the native people to use different strategies. The chief problem, associated with this is job losses. When the local shops are forced to shut down, the people running the shops turn jobless. As a result, they are unable to provide for their families or themselves. Furthermore, the profits the larger supermarkets make are not usually spent on improving the economy of the local area. However, subsidies can be provided to these small-scale shops by the government. By using the subsidies, they will be able to expand and improve their reach and facilities. Pakistan, had once adopted this method to keep the small businesses alive in the northern regions (Muree and Gilgit Baltistan) Another problem that will arise is the reduction of consumer choice. Many local markets offer unique commodities, and if these markets fail to keep up, alot of this merchandise will be lost. Moreover, this reduced competition will make the large-scale supermarkets complacent, resulting in lower quality goods being sold. This can be tackled by using new approaches. The native people can diversify their products to appeal to more customers, after which analysis can be done to see which merchandise was most sold and then focus on producing that good. In conclusion, the imbalance between large and small-scale shops is resulting in job losses and a reduction in the variety of merchandise. But, this can be prevented by adopting new approaches and by the endorsement of the government.