Some people believe that younger family members should be legally responsible for supporting older family members when they become physically, mentally and financially unable to take care of themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that younger family members are responsible lawfully for supporting elder family members who are incapable physically, mentally and financially to look after themselves. I completely disagree with this idea due to some compelling reasons. To begin with, most young people struggle to find a job and to be financially independent. Moreover, youngers who have partner and children have difficulty finding a job and supporting themselves. Hence, imposing a compulsory obligation on young people to take care of their parents not only restricts their freedom but also creates extra stress and pressure on them. As a result, both young people feel emotionally insufficient in their life and parents may feel upset about they are a burden to their children. Furthermore, elderly people sometimes need professional medical and psychological care, and family members may not be qualified to provide this to them. Therefore, well-being of older family members should be responsibility of governments within the scope of a social state. Consequently, instead of enforcing for young people to support their old relatives, the government should provide professional help to elderly citizens in terms of free or affordable fees. For instance, in many countries, states fund healthcare services including nursing or community health programs to take the burden off young family member’s shoulders. In conclusion, elderly individuals often require specialized medical and psychological care, therefore, ensuring their well-being should remain the responsibility of the government. Considering these compelling reasons I strongly disagree that young family members ought to be legally obliged to care for older relatives who are unable to look after themselves physically, mentally, or financially.