Advertising aimed at children should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, children are exposed to a diversity of advertising, and there are evident advantages that have been brought. However, there are some existing concerns about this issue, and some people assert that advertisements should be prohibited. I believe that the advertising context should be taken into consideration while judging. On the one hand, ubiquitous advertising may facilitate consumerism among children. Stemming from the fact that children are not capable of resisting temptations and have less judgment, they are at high risk of being attracted and cheated. For instance, some toy or snack-related advertisements at railway stations are mainly oriented to children, with attractive pictures and slogans. Therefore, due to curiosity and childishness, kids will persuade their parents to purchase them. This practice promotes consumerism and leads to unbalanced diet habits if they have excessive intake, thereby resulting in tooth cavities and obesity, which will have a vast negative effect on children’s health status. On the other hand, supporters of advertising may find merit in widening children’s perspectives. Some advertising, such as cars and artificial intelligence, leaves a positive motivation for children to encourage their creativity and problem-solving abilities. One good example is ChatGPT; its intellectual functions of analyzing data and generating photos contribute to children’s awareness of advanced technology. As a result, children are becoming active in exploring technologies, and their technological literacy is going to be facilitated, which means they have other alternatives to promote task efficiency. Moreover, obtaining skills in technology expands their repertoire of software capacity and improves their productivity in future workplaces. In conclusion, advertising is such a double-edged sword, whether for children’s spiritual world or physical health. I believe that with reasonable allocations and supervision of advertising, children can enjoy healthy advertisements in harmony.