In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing debate about whether it is beneficial for a country when a small number of individuals earn extremely high salaries. While some people support this trend, others believe that governments should impose a limit on earnings. This essay will discuss both views before presenting my own opinion. Examining the former opinion, supporters argue that high salaries are a well-deserved reward for individuals who contribute significant value to society, as they can encourage innovation and motivate people to perform at their best. Additionally, high incomes can generate substantial government revenue, as high earners pay more taxes, which can be used to improve public services such as healthcare, education and infrastructure. On the contrary, those in favour of the latter opinion have their own arguments. To begin with, they claim that unlimited salaries can lead to serious income inequality, widening the gap between the rich and the poor. Moreover, financial pressure on low-income individuals may increase social instability, as it can push some people towards criminal activities. For instance, in societies with large income disparities, crime rates tend to be higher. Therefore, imposing a salary cap could help create a fairer and more stable society. To conclude and offer my position, there are convincing arguments both for and against allowing a small number of people to earn extremely high salaries. However, I firmly believe that this trend is beneficial, as it encourages innovation and contributes to economic growth.