Some children speand a long time each day on their smartphones. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that more and more children are using smart devices every day. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and explain why this is a negative trend. To begin with, it is a well-known fact that smartphones are designed to make users spend as much time as possible on their phones. For example, apps like YouTube are programmed with technological enhancements. This means that when someone looks for topics that interest them, over time the app will suggest videos related to their preferences. This can make children spend very long hours on these apps without feeling bored. In addition, the absence of supervision is another reason for such a trend. In other words, parents play an important role in shaping their child's routine; therefore, if both parents are busy with work, it is more likely for kids to spend a huge amount of their time on smartphones. This indicates the crucial part guardians play in forming a child's habits. Despite the enjoyment produced by the apps, this essay believes that addiction has many negative impacts on offspring's personal lives. It is possible to say that spending a long time setting in front of screens can lead to a lack of physical activity. Such behaviour can prevent children from going outdoors and engage in playing sports, like football and bike riding. Moreover, allocating most of their time to electronic devices can influence their social relationships. For example, many studies have shown that kids who spend long time on smartphones are more prone to loneliness. This over time, might lead to depression and psychological diseases. In conclusion, there are many negative consequences for children who spend a long time on their smartphones. The parent have to restrict their usage to avoid addiction, which can affect the future of their children.