Some people think that social networking sites have a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social networking sites have become the norm in the 21st century, with the majority of the people using social media in some shape or form. I agree with the opinion that social networking sites have adverse and negative impacts on both individuals and society. I will explain my justification. The information age is one of the most polarizing ages and times in the history of humanity. The power to access information, learn new things and connect with new people is exciting and is a leap in human interaction and globalisation of cultures on this planet. With this we are facing a new challenge of negative impacts of social networking on not just the new generation but the older generations as well. With social networking being accessible to anyone and everyone, it was initially developed to connect with new people and the ones you already know. With the rise in social media influencers comes a challenge of monitoring these accounts and monitoring the content they put out to watch. With unrestricted and unverified access to these platforms, young children at an impressionable age will be exposed to the unrealistic lifestyle and the idea of being perfect all the time. This can cause mental health issues and body dysmorphia in young audiences. These platforms rarely have the correct verification systems in place to identify its users age which also leads to the dangerous problem of grooming, manipulating and criminal stalking of the young people using the platform. Secondly, the proliferation of misinformation might lead to divisive narratives and can cause social unrest amongst a community. The rise in cyberbullying, racism, hate speech and rapid spreading of false information poses a real threat to undermine institutions, fuel unrest in people and can lead to criminal activities in the real world which may cause harm to an innocent human being. However it is important to acknowledge that these platforms do have their place in this world. Social networking provides us with an opportunity to connect with new people or rekindle our old relationships with people from our past. They also help in keeping up with a distant family member or friend. Besides, these channels have democratized access to information and knowledge, empowering individuals to express their perspectives, share their values and participate in public discourse. In conclusion, social media and networking platforms pose numerous threats to individuals and society as a whole. But the merits of these platforms shouldn’t be discredited as well. They help us in connecting with the rest of the world and keep up with news and recent events. It is crucial to mitigate all drawbacks of social media while maximizing its positive potential through responsible use, digital literacy initiatives and ethical guidance for platform governance.