Car onwership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now ‘one big traffic jam.’ How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The claim that car ownership has risen a lot in the last 30 years and that traffic jams are common is largely true. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this phenomenon and suggest a few measures to discourage people from using their cars. To begin with, there are several reasons that push drivers to use their own vehicle. For example, convenience and flexibility are the major ones. In other words, nowadays, many people enjoy having their privacy, like they have the choice to specify who would accompany them during their commute, or simply drive alone. Additionally, for some, the privilege to drive anywhere at any time is important. To exemplify, flexibility for traveling to remote places, inside the neighbourhood, or late at night are things that trains and buses can not usually offer. Despite all of this, governments can still apply certain procedures to minimise such a problem as much as possible. It is possible to say that charging solo drivers in busy areas is advisable. For instance, in Washington DC, the government started to impose strict regulations on single drivers. Such an approach has led people to go to their work and school with their colleagues, instead of using three cars for 3 individuals, they can use one car for 3 people when heading to the same location. Moreover, improving public transportation is crucial to encouraging citizens to use it. As an example, making it exceptionally affordable, faster than cars, clean, and convenient, all of these features contribute to tempting drivers to use public transport. This approach can push people to compare driving their own vehicles to using trains. Therefore, if using buses was cheaper, they are more likely to go for it and vice versa. In conclusion, there are many reasons for owning a personal vehicle that result in traffic jams. However, authorities are able to reduce this trend by enforcing certain policies. It is true that charging the drivers in busy areas, along with developing public transportation, can bring fruitful results.