In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is argued that students were willing to go to university in their own country in the past; however, nowadays, they prefer to study abroad more because of some opportunities. This trend could have both positive and negative consequences. To begin with, the most significant advantage is that students can access easily to more qualified educational opportunities and various professions. Moreover, international diploma brings more prestige and job opportunities to young people in labour market. The second positive aspect of this shift is living in a foreign country develops students ’ dependency and increases self-confidence. Therefore, they can improve their language skills fast. As a result, meeting new cultures expand students ’ perspective and support personal development. For example, a student who studies engineering at a top university in this field may gain advanced technical knowledge and international experience. However, one of the outstanding demerits of this is being away from their families and friends is may cause loneliness and stress. In addition to they can experience cultural shock and struggle with adaptation. Another crucial drawback is education expenditures may be expensive and this issue burden accommodation expenditures, tuition fees and life spending on their parents’ shoulders. This situation causes to more stressful university life for students and economic difficulties for their parents. In conclusion, whether in the past students tended to take a university degree in own country, today they believe that studying abroad brings more acquisition and opportunities to them. This trend has both beneficial and detrimental effects on not only their own academic and personal lives but also their parents’ lives.