Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been pointed out that, since school children are able to look for a tremendous amount of information online and study from their comfortable homes, educational establishments have become redundant. Personally, I completely disagree with this idea as attending schools brings benefits to both individuals and society. First of all, academic institutions have a positive impact on psychological health. The reason is that classrooms are a social place where children are able to meet new friends and interact with people with different cultural and educational backgrounds, which enhances their strong sense of belonging and connection, thus contributing to mental growth. For instance, a huge number of parents whose children are attending primary schools mention that watching an iPad or studying at home makes their son or daughter feel lonely owing to the lack of personal touch or face-to-face communication. By contrast, going to school every day allows their child to socialise with their classmates, which is extremely beneficial for their mental health. In addition, the elimination of educational establishments will cause a serious repercussion for our society. This is because a massive proportion of the workforce is employed in the education sector, and if colleges or schools were closed, they would lose their jobs and stable income to support their livelihood, which would lead to our community being unstable. As an illustration, several school teachers who have lost their jobs say that the advancement of online education has replaced them, which forces them to rely on government subsidies to cover their expensive living expenses. This alternation not only brings huge pressure on both them and our communities. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinions about whether academic institutions are unnecessary, I am of the opinion that online education cannot replace the traditional educational places, which have benefits to pupils' mental well-being and society.