Many companies today sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that this is a good thing for the world of sports. Others think this has disadvantages. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In recent decades, various approaches to advertising brands have emerged, one of which is leveraging sports to popularize themselves. There is an ongoing debate about this issue; some advocate that it will bring numerous benefits, while others believe the opposite. From my standpoint, I am certainly convinced that taking advantage of sports for personal gain can lead to several drawbacks. This essay will delve into both perspectives before drawing a conclusion. On the one hand, it is obvious that sports sponsorship makes a significant contribution to the development and prevalence of sports. First, companies provide financial assistance for training, facilities, and equipment, supporting athletes to perform better at the competition. Moreover, by launching the brand’s advertising campaign through social media or TV programs, the popularity of the sports involved could be widespread, and reinforce the influence of those sports. On the other hand, that is not to say that using sports for branding purposes has no negative consequences. The true meaning of sportsmanship has been distorted by excessively focusing on commercialization, causing the spirit of competition to lose its original value. In addition, the sponsorship from corporations of fast food or alcohol could spoil the public perception of athletics. For example, so many times the football player Cristiano Ronaldo had knocked over a sponsor’s soft drink bottle to convey that such beverages are not good for health, especially in sports. To sum up, although some people argue that providing funds for athletics as a way to popularize the companies’ reputation could have a positive impact on the world of sports, others contend that over-commercialization corrupts the true spirit of sports. Personally, I believe that companies should use sports as a means of advertising to a moderate extent in order to preserve their core value.