Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals.. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to environmental problems, people’s opinions vary. While a segment of society argues that the most significant problem is the loss of plant and animal variety, others hold the contrasting view that there are more important environmental issues. As for me, I side with the latter. On one hand, there is no doubt that the disappearance of specific species of flora and fauna is a severe issue. Firstly, it may trigger a breakdown in the food chain. For instance, if the frogs were to become extinct, pests would lose their natural enemy which will lead to population surge and thereby jeopardizing agricultural production. In addition, the loss of plant variety reduces biodiversity and undermines ecosystem stability, posing a threat to global food security. What is more, the medical field depends on biodiversity. If some species of plants disappear, the main components of some medicines will be lost. On the other hand, there are more significant environmental issues such as climate change and plastic pollution. To begin with, climate change is mainly caused by air pollution. The excessive emission of carbon dioxide contributes to the greenhouse effect, after which global temperature rises steadily and in turn increases natural disasters like floods and droughts. Moreover, it is plastic pollution that damages the oceans. Not only does it harm the marine environment, but also endangers the lives of marine creatures. In conclusion, although the species decline is a major factor in environmental damage, there are many other factors- such as climate change and plastic pollution- that are equally significant. As part of the ecosystem, humans should spare no efforts to address these interrelated environmental problems and attach great importance to protecting the entire ecological balance.