People continue to recommit crimes even after being penalized for their wrongdoings. Why do you think this happens? How can crimes be stopped?

Nowadays, perpetrators tend to recommit their crimes after being punished for their actions. This essay will examine causes as well as solutions to mitigate this tendency. There are a variety of causes for this matter. To begin with, individuals who had committed crimes before will no longer fear the penalty of the law anymore due to the mentality change after prison. BBC News once interviewed a connoisseur of thief psychology, in which he has stated that jail time often makes perpetrators become somewhat fearless due to the mindset which they have experienced the worst and what worse could it be if they steal or do it again. Therefore, putting them in prison might not be the best idea, and it could also lead to the crimes being recommitted. Despite these circumstances, there are various measures that the government should take to lower the crime rate. Firstly, increase punishment for those who had heavier sentences, for example, murderers, sex offenders, and human traffickers. These individuals do not deserve human rights due to how inhumane their actions have been, thus, giving them worse punishments is a way to frighten them for the rest of their lives. Secondly, secure the jail/prison with more manpower or technology since outlaws nowadays have great ability to escape and hack into the camera system. Hence, increasing the overall security and penalty will most definitely mitigate the seriousness of the situation. In conclusion, individuals who have committed crimes will recommit it again even after being punished. It is my belief that the government should take action immediately to tackle this phenomenon, even though it might not be able to change right now, its effect will be vast in the near future