In many countries, people today are living longer than ever before. Why is this happening? What problems can it cause for society?

Nowadays people have a longer life span than those in previous century. This increased life expectancy of people has several causes. However, it also poses some problems in the society. This essay will further discuss the reasons and the concerns related to this development. There are numerous factors that help individuals to live longer such as improved lifestyle and better healthcare facilities. People these days are more aware of the importance of having a healthy way of living. Consequently they focus more on exercising regularly,and eating meals that will not cause any harm to the body such as less sugary and oily substances. These habits helps in making immunity stronger and body more resistant to any bacteria and viruses. Improving overall well -being of humans, helping them to live disease free for a longer period. In addition to that, Modern medicine has progressed to a great extent in this era enabling less invasive and faster recovery options from serious life -threatening diseases. For example, A recent study has found cure for cancer which was a fatal disease few years back. As a result, the death rates have declined in many countries. Therefore, people ’s awareness towards leading a healthier life and advanced medicine has helped them to add years to their lives. However, this change has also introduced some concern to the society. Firstly, increased scarcity of resources. As people are living more than expected years, and growth in the number of newborn leading to increased population. This rise in population further increases demand of essentials required for survival such as water, light, food which is not in same proportion as people. Additionally, this rising trend of improved life expectancy has affected younger population. The freshers entering job market are struggling to find a job as senior staff continues to work in their designated role. Therefore people working under them are not promoted to upper management position leaving no room for recruitment of entry level roles for new graduates. For instance, many new young professionals take up jobs in a completely different sector or part-time roles due to unavailability of work related to their domain. In conclusion, human’s focus towards leading a better lifestyle and progress in healthcare system has enabled them to live for a long period of time. However issue resulting from this change such as exhausting sources necessary for daily living and lesser opportunities for young individuals cannot be neglected.