Cohabitation is believed to bring huge advantages for young people since it enables them to fully understand each other before deciding to get married. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some individuals think that couples who want to formalise their relationships should live together under a common roof in order to get to know each other. Despite the fact that there are some difficulties related to the traditions of the society they are living in, I completely support this point of view because it can reduce the percentage of divorces. Firstly, although many people have the opinion that co-living should not be allowed, there are some benefits of it, such as sharing responsibilities in daily life. In other words, people have to devide responsibilities in their everyday life such as earning money, washing dishes or driving a car. Despite the point of view that delegating roles is unnecessary nowadays, many married people do not want to continue living with a person who does not respect and accept their roles in family. As an example, research shows, women initiate devorce more often than men, since men want to see a housewife, not a working woman, while women do not accept this kind of life. Turning into a second advantage, cohabitation before marriage can teach young people how to make compromises in controversial situations. It is clear that real life is different from love and euphoria that fell people when they first fall in love. However, this feeling can be ruined immediately, if two people have not learned how to explain their own feelings, understand the person in front of them and make a decision together. For instance, my friend got married without co-living with his partner, and unfortunately, they got divorced due to some arguments they had. As he said, they did not know how to listen to each other, and especially, they were talking different languages. In conclusion, getting married without co-living does not seem challenging, cohabitation has many advantages as minimising the number of divorces, and in my opinion, they outweigh disadvantages though.