Many countries are experiencing population growth and need to build more homes. Some say that new homes should be constructed in existing cities while others argue that new towns should be built to accommodate the growing population. What are the advantages and disadvantages of these points of view

It is true that in many parts of the world, the demand for homes is increasing due to a significant rise in the human population. Although some people believe that the construction of new homes should take place in already existing cities, others argue that new areas should be used to build new towns. This essay will discuss the merits and demerits of both two points. To start, expanding the number of houses in a city can have some advantageous sides. First of all, it can save a considerable quantity of space. Were the homes built upwards rather than horizontally, it would not only help accommodate more individuals, but it would also avoid the potential use of new areas. As a result, it enables people to utilise the extra space for other purposes, such as agriculture and farming, facilitating life in the area. However, this can cause some problems as well, one of which is sanitation. The more people live in the same area, the harder it becomes to clean the pollution they throw away. This, in turn, can lead to the spread of diseases as well as air pollution. A case in this point is Delhi, where millions of people live next to one another, thereby making it challenging to control the sanitation process. Moreover, there are numerous advantages to the idea of constructing new cities. Firstly, it creates job opportunities. As people move to the newly constructed city, they will be responsible for the creation of facilities, like shops, restaurants and cafes. As a result, it creates opportunities for new entrepreneurs, while making new workplaces for the unemployed part of the population. On the other hand, it would certainly cause deforestation and habitat loss for fauna and flora. It would require logging trees and taking over the forest to accommodate the increasing population, resulting in some animals becoming extinct. For example, once common in the Brazilian forests, the Black bear has been on the brink of extinction due to the government's plan of building new cities. In conclusion, whereas construction of new houses in existing cities or building new ones has disadvantages, cleanliness issues and deforestation, respectively, they both offer notable advantages, more space for other purposes and new business opportunities.