Nowadays, it seems that people tend to waste a great amount of food. Why do you think this is happening? And how can we solve this problem?

In the contemporary epoch, people are likely to waste a considerable amount of food. This essay, I will illustrate the cause and the solution of this problem. The major reason of this problem is the mass manufacture and consumption structure of food industry. Due to the poor economics, most consumers prefere to buy low cost products instead of expensive products. Manufacturer enables to make low cost products by constantly buying tremendous amount of materials needed for products. As a result, excessive products are provided constantly, leading to significant amount of food waste. To tackle this problem, it is inevitable to reconsider the negative structure of food industry. Firstly, not only the companies but also the consumers should be aware of the consequences of buying cheap products, because all individuals are equally responsible for the problem. Furthermore, the government should put tax on the companies producing food waste and subsidies the ones with less food waste, using the income of the tax. By this policy, companies will choose eco-friendly food production rather than low cost-oriented method in a sustainable way. To conclude, there is a growing concern of enormous food waste. This is likely to be the consequence of mass food manufacture and consumption to provide affordable products to households. I believe that It can possibly be solved by taxing companies with food waste whereas subsidizing companies without it. In my opinion, this solution could both be effective and sustainable at the same time.