In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In some societies, rural dwellers' migration to cities tends to be an increasing trend at the expense of the depopulation of villages. I assume this trend is associated with imposing a latent cost on both governments and societies, and I will shed light on the two most important disadvantages of this transformation that affect nations negatively. While rural inhabitants migrate to urban areas, some essential activities, such as agriculture, that depend on the rural workforce will face critical problems. Based on statistics, more than 70% of agriculture, both traditional and intensive ones, relied on rural labourers and with the depopulation of villages, the food industry will face with shortage farm work. This complex matter turns to either food shortage or governmental investment for training and engaging workforces from other districts. I believe this imposes hidden costs on government and society. Furthermore, excessive immigration to cities leads to overcrowding in these areas and leads to other critical problems for not only citizens but also the government in some ways. Firstly, an overcrowded city means changes are needed in infrastructure to meet overplanned demands; namely, habitat, transportation, health care, and other facilities that impose exaggerated payments to governments. Secondly, living in an overpopulated city with a fast-paced lifestyle style associated with stress and anxiety for individuals, and this matter, alongside high levels of pollutants in overcrowded cities reported as the most significant factor in decreasing public health. In conclusion, increasing rural dwellers' immigration to urban areas is a harmful transformation that has the potential to impose a high level of unfair cost to the government through food shortage, training un native farming workforce, providing unplanned demands originating from excessive immigration to cities, and decreasing public health.