News editors decide what to broadcast on TV and what to print on newspaper. What factors do you think inflluence on these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news were reported?

News that we see on television or read on newspaper is carefully chosen by the news editors. Many things influence those decisions, such as money, audience interest and sometimes politics. I believe that people have used to hearing bad news and publishing more good news would make the world a little bit better place. One main reason why editors choose to edit certain parts of a story is profit. Media companies need viewers and readers to make money through advertisement and availibility, so they often choose a topic that catches the most attention, like crimes or controversial issues. Besides, audience interest also affects what editors choose to publish. If most people are interested in celebrity gossips or shocking news, the media chooses to publish those topics more than the mainstream news. Lastly, political parties commonly influence the decision. In some countries, the leading party of the nation controls and guides the media companies to publish news or programmes that benefits them. One example is North Korea. The communist party led by Kim Jong Un practically controls all of the nation's media coverage. The news and television programmes are often filled with propaganda which mostly glorifies every little actions that Kim Jong Un does. Because we often hear about bad things such as murder or accidents everyday, people have become desensitized to them. As a result, things that used to shocking to us now feel normal. This can make people less caring about serious issues and lead to having a negative outlook on life. When everything that we see is sad and violent, it's easy to lose hope and think that nothing good ever happens. If the media showed more positive news or television programmes, the people would gain hope and get inspired by the actions shown in the news. For example, publishing news or television programmes that show people doing actions that benefits the society as a whole would motivate people to do the good thing. In conclusion, news editors are mainly influenced by money, politics, and public interest. Since people have become too used to bad news, I think it would be better if the media reported more good news to create a healthier and more optimistic society.