Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

Living in the cutting-edge era leads to many children interacting with their mobile phones for hours each day, since their entertainment and programs have been summarised in brand new gadgets. Whether this trend has a positive or negative impact greatly depends on the individual's purpose of usage and the number of hours spent. First and foremost, one of the reasons why young folk spend most of their time on their mobile phones is that many applications, such as Instagram and TikTok, have provided addictive content that can easily absorb younger generations' attention. Furthermore, there are messengers like Telegram that make getting in touch with friends and relatives convenient, which can play a significant role in teenagers' lives. Moreover, through exploring useful materials on websites, they can benefit from upcoming trends and information in any field, which keeps their minds sharp and productive. While, the challenges of this trend cannot be overlooked. Initially, excessive use of smartphones is one of the contributing factors to emerging physical health problems, such as arthritis among teenagers, since they sit stationary for long hours in one position. Moreover, many unconscious children have been exposed to dangerous and inappropriate content on the internet. For instance, hackers can access their personal information if they just click on the wrong links. In conclusion, with the development of smartphones and technology, many people are prone to using these gadgets, particularly children. They can take advantage of digital entertainment, interaction with their friends, and also boost their knowledge about the latest trends. While overuse of them leads to some physical issues and also increases the risk of abuse of unaware children.