Some people think the best way to solve global environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, carbon emissions have been increasing at an unprecedented pace, causing severe environmental problems. Some people believe that raising fuel prices is one of the effective measures to mitigate these issues. While such an initiative reduces air pollution to some extent, I strongly disagree with this perspective, since alternative strategies are more sustainable and effective. One compelling reason to oppose the higher cost of fuel is the financial burden on the public. Although this policy may help reduce carbon emission, it can create financial instability. To exemplify, countries like Canada, which rely heavily on transportation for goods and services, implementing such policies not only increases transportation costs but also strain individuals' budgets. Hence, while this policy may contribute to cleaner air, it simultaneusly imposes financial challenges. Another significant justification is the availability of effective strategies. Although tackling environmental problems is a formidable challenge, advances in technology can provide feasible solutions. For instance, If government could subsidized electronic vehicles, it would not only decrease air pollution but also make sustainable transport more affordable for the public. Therefore, government should focus on long-term strategies rather than short-term measures such as increasing fuel prices. Admittedly, it is plausible to argue that higher fuel prices reduces unnecessary travel, thereby cleaning air and even reducing traffic congestion. However, such an approach would also make essential goods and services such as groceries and medicines more expensive due to higher transportation cost, which could harm ordinary citizens. In conclusion, despite the fact that raising the fuel prices may reduce carbon emissions, enhancing air quality, it simultaneusly increase the living cost and contribute to inflation. Consequently, I disagree with this approach, since better policies can be adopted by the government to address environmental issues.