Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is believed by some that the number of cars used will decline over the next two decades. This essay agrees with this view and proceeds to elaborate on the reason for this being improvement in public transport and the rising fuel costs. In the past few years there has been an increasing trend in the usage of public transport in major cities around the world.The governments of major economies around the world are investing heavily in advance public transport like a dense network of metro trains. Due to this, the connectivity between various regions within the country has been enhanced. Consequently, the number of private car usage is decreasing. As we know that the various fossil fuels used in vehicles is a limited non renewable resource which cannot be recreated in a lab once the existing stock underneath earth's crust is completely extracted.The rising scarcity of fossil fuels has caused the prices to rise steadily over the years and these prices will keep increasing exponentially as the fuels become more and more scarce. Thus, over the next two decades, due to unaffordable prices of fossil fuels and public transport like metro rail becoming increasingly accessible and affordable to masses the number of cars is bound to plummet.