In some countries governments pay the money for students' universityfees, while in other countries, students pay for themselves. Do advantages otgovernments paying for the students outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, some governments offer financial subsidies to encourage students to receive high - level education, whereas in other countries, some students need to pay for it by themselves. From my perspective, the merits of governments paying for students ' university fees absolutely outweigh its demerits. Firstly, offering financial subsidies can improve social equity. If rural students can study at university with financial subsidies, they will acquire skills and knowledge, and thereby have more opportunities to obtain a high - income job. Take Germany as an example. In 2003, the German government issued a policy that it would pay for students ' university fees, so many poor students obtained high - level education. According to the data from the Government Report 2020, the gap between the rich and the poor was significantly narrowed. Not only can it improve people's lives, but it can also narrow the poverty gap and, in turn, enhance social equity. In addition, this policy provides more talents for society. For instance, Yuan Longping, who was born into a poor family, graduated from China Agricultural University with a financial subsidy and thereby devoted himself to agricultural research. One of his great achievements was hybrid rice, which reduced food shortage for millions of people. Therefore, it is evident that offering financial subsidies can promote social innovation. However, paying for university fees will impose a heavier financial burden, which may cause a fiscal strain and thereby reduce other investments, such as in infrastructure or the healthcare system. For example, America used to cover university fees for students, but the policy was later canceled due to the government's financial strain. In conclusion, although providing financial subsidies may cause financial strain, it can effectively enhance social equity and promote social innovation. Therefore, the advantages of the policy undoubtedly outweigh its disadvantages.