The increase in tourism has led to greater cultural understanding, but it has also caused damage to local cultures. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since tourism has increased all over the world, cultural understanding raised with it; however, it also caused damage to local cultures. By understanding how different cultures live, connections between are made, giving more knowledge about how other civilisations used to live. I believe, the biggest damages happen when overtourism meets monetization of culture. On the one hand, countries that share their culture can make connections between other cultures and give people an understanding of their ancestors. Firstly, sharing ones culture gives the opportunity to make connections with different countries and their culture, leading to new knowledge. For example, in German and Roman culture it is known that long lasting wars existed between them, a fact which would not have been known if they were not open to tourism. Secondly, creating tourism gives foreigners an understanding of the way of life in a certain country. For instance, Europeans, who used alcohol to sterilize their drinks are capable of drinking a lot, while Chinese, who had other ways of sterilisazion do not get on well with alcohol. This shows, by increasing tourism, people learn to understand their past and make connections to other cultures. On the other hand, overtoursim can damage local culture heavily, especially when it is getting monetized. On many cultural world wonders, where tourism is booming, big hotels are being build even if it means to destroy smaller, "unwanted" cultural sites. Furthermore, the culture gets pushed into the background to give way for making money. In Australia for instance, individuals have to pay to see Uluru, the biggest rock in the world, even tho it is in the middle of nowhere and no mainanance is required. In my opinion, this can reduce the experience to see such cultural habitats and lowers the overall interest in them. In conclusion, while greater tourism can give a greater understanding of different culutures and create links between them, to much tourism destroys such cultures to make way for moneymaking. This should not be the main motivation of increasing tourism.