Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out by some that modern communication technology strengthens human connections, other people opine that modern social media has created more distance for individuals. Personally, I agree with the former idea as the digital communication tools offer a more convenient way to form and maintain friendships around the world. On the one hand, some individuals, including me, suggest that communicating via digital apps prompts a strong relationship for every single person. The reason is that when using social media or messaging apps, people can meet others with diverse cultural and financial backgrounds around the world, which provides them with chances to deepen their understanding of cultural diversity and enhance their sense of empathy, thus contributing to a greater sense of belonging and connection. For instance, a vast majority of youngsters who are using Facebook say that they are able to stay in touch with European high school students virtually, which not only cultivates their understanding of the European studying environment but also helps them maintain long-distance friendships. On the other hand, other people argue that modern technology has led to isolation. This is because when people are used to communicating with others by phone or computer, they may misunderstand others' meanings during face-to-face communication, especially when explaining complex concepts, giving rise to conflicts, which harm people's relationships. As an illustration, a huge number of office workers complain that since the pandemic started, they have been working from home, talking about issues in virtual meetings and having fewer opportunities to meet their colleagues in person. They find that the number of misunderstanding cases is growing, which results in weaker relationships with their co-workers. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinion about whether modern communication technology helps people get a closer relationship or not, while I am of the opinion that every single person is getting closer to each other, thanks to modern communication tools.