In some countries people spend long hours at work. Why does this happen? Is it positive or negative development

It is argued that in some nations, employees take the majority of time at work. The reason why this happens is because they want to get a promotion, it is a negative development because it causes exhaustion. Many people spend long hours of their day in work to get a promotion. Employees think that working various hours a day might get them a promotion. And for them to get one is striving and perseverance, not just working long hours. For instance, employees in Saudi Arabia think that the primary reason to get an upgrade is to work more than 10 hours a day just to show the management that they are able to handle the amount of work. The negative side of this is that it causes exhaustion. People who work long hours a day get tired easily, by not getting enough sleep time or standing a very long time in work. This often adds up and harm you very badly, and the most effected ones are adolescents wich they can not get a comfortable job and would sacrifice there health to get a nice and comfy job that they can not afford it at this age. For example, teenagers who have a job might be seen in a hospital for a backache all because standing a long time in work just to get a promotion and all of that is for nothing. In conclusion, while people spend long time working just to get a promotion, I believe that it is harmful and causes exhaustion.