It is argued by some that future planning is useless and that one should worry more about now. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are individuals who believe that it is not necessary to plan for the future and that one should simply live in the present. I strongly disagree with this. My personal belief is that planning for the future is essential because it allows individuals to achieve long-term success and avoid unexpected problems. Future-planners have higher possibilities of realising their long-term goals. They not only obtain the maximum from existing opportunities but also dominate their immediate actions. When goals are combined with systematic plans, it leads to personal growth and satisfaction. For example, research carried out at Harvard University suggests that students with set future plans perform 45% better in emotional, financial, physical, and social areas than unguided students. In addition, a disciplined lifestyle enables one to anticipate and deal with future challenges. With early planning, people can create prosperous habits, shape valuable abilities, and apply rational thinking—all of which contribute to stability in the moment. Planning also stimulates cautious and rational consideration of life. For instance, according to studies carried out by the International Organisation for Human Resources, people with defined goals are 23% less likely to encounter undesirable outcomes. Even when trouble strikes, they experience less stress and anxiety than others who are without plans. Finally, definite future goals help individuals to succeed and deal with uncertainty better. Not only does a future orientation improve present decision-making but also prepares individuals to deal with life's uncertain situations better.