Holding international games such as Olympic games is an exciting event. Some people think that it has positive effects while others argue it is a waste of money. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Hosting international competitions such as the Olympic games and the Cricket World Cup has always been a pride for every Nation. While some people exhibit pride and assert it has a positive impact on society, others argue that the money should be spent on other useful things. This essay will discuss both views before sharing a personal opinion. On one hand, the positive benefits of hosting international games are many. First and foremost, it brings nations together. People from other countries visit our nation as participants and the audience, which allows us to showcase the culture and beauty of our nation in front of others. People of our country will also be exposed to foreign cultures. Additionally, there will be a gain in income. People will benefit from new employment opportunities such as for setting up infrastructure and event planning. Whilst the government earns a lot of money through selling event tickets, the local vendors also make a lucrative business due to the large inflow of people. Furthermore, the home ground support will benefit the participants from our country fostering them to perform better in the games. Finally, the inflow of foreigners will promote tourism in our country fostering economic growth. On the other hand, opponents argue that our country has a lot of problems like poverty and unemployment. The large amount of money spent for conducting the games should be spent for the benefit of people in terms of free food and subsidies. They also think that crowds caused by the event also lead to more pollution. In my opinion, hosting international competitions like the Olympic games and the World Cup is like a dream come true moment. As a citizen, we should take pride in exhibiting our talent in organizing such events that eventually boost our country ’s value. To conclude, organizing international events does involve costs, but the outcomes in terms of value, revenue, and economic growth outweigh them.