Some people think that family life and parents have great influence on children’s development, while others consider that external influence plays a more important role in children’s life. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that both children and adults get considerably affected by their surroundings. Some people think that family life has great influence on children's development, whereas others consider that external influence plays a more important role in children's lives. This essay will discuss both perspectives and present my opinion. On the one hand, it is undeniable how parents shape their children's characteristics. In other words, whatever the parent do or say, whether it is a good or bad behaviour, children are more likely to adopt that thing. For example, if a child sees his father reads, then he or she is going to grab a book and starts copying their father. This shows that children consciously or unconsciously take their parents as their role models, and according to many recent research. On the other hand, we can not ignore how kids influence one another. It is possible to say that their peers' influence is no less than family's influence. Many studies have shown that 78% of children are effected by each other, especially those who lack family care in home. For instance, when a kid hangs out with a group of students who are very hard working and have high grades, the child can not help but begins to be like them. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that both of them are significant factors that contribute greatly to forming and effecting people's personalities. Although families paly a crucial role in building their sons or daughters characteristics, friends and colleagues influence can never be underestimated.