Many people believe that children learn by watching television. They say that children should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, many people believe that children should watch a great deal of television. The belief is that they learn. In fact, they should be encouraged to watch television on a regular basis, both at home and at school. In my opinion, I partially agree with this statement. This essay will provide evidence to support my opinion. On the one hand, I completely agree with children who enjoy watching television at home. There are a lot of positive ideas about watching television at home. First, television can improve the information a child can aquire. This is especially true for children who study at school. If they watch classes on YouTube or search for information on Google, they might forget it. Second, it promotes parent-child relationships by gathering at home and watching movies. Therefore, this can make their relationship stronger. Finally, it helps children get news from several channels. Keeping up on current events is important. On the other hand, I do not agree with watching television at school. There are a large number of reasons why I disagree with this view. First, television can waste a child's time. Instead of learning new academic skills, they are being entertained. Second, there is a study at the University of Oxford that showed that forty per cent of people who watch television are children. Thus, teachers must avoid this and improve the learning at the board. Finally, watching television at school could promote sleepiness. This can therefore make them lazy. In conclusion, I believe that it is clear to see that watching television at home is a great idea. However, I don’t believe that watching television at school is a good idea. School is for academics and television is for home.