Women are better at childcare than men therefore they should focus more on raising children and less on their working life. To what extents do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It’s widely believed that women should concentrate on raising children and less on their work, because they are better at childcare than men. Especially, such a statement is widespread in Muslim countries. I strongly disagree with this belief. Analysing the statistics on divorces when women remain alone with children without a career, and sufficient money, as well as the character of relationships of fathers with children proves it. Firstly, the analysis of divorce statistics illustrates that women who focus on family and growing children, remain without a proper career and enough money. Such a picture is observed in developed countries, where the sum of alimony is extremely low, and most men hide their earnings from the law. While women who can continue their jobs after childbirth feel better and confident in their relationships. That’s why, there is no need for women to be engaged only with family issues, and miss job opportunities. Secondly, the character of the father-child relationship in Muslim countries is distant, because fathers join the upbringing much later. This impacts the family dynamic and children ’s confidence. Those families, in which fathers take a part in raising children, as well as taking paternity leave, spending more time with their children, are more stable and satisfied with each other. For instance, Mark Zuckerberg took a holiday in order to assist her wife after her childbirth. Thus, this becomes apparent that women are not obliged to focus only on raising children; this is obligatory for both parents. To summarise, focusing women only on raising children cannot be beneficial for them because they can remain without a career and money in cases of divorce. Also, the inclusion of fathers in the upbringing process can be favourable for children, and the family as a whole.