Some people believe that in the future most cities will become unlivable due to pollution and overcrowding, while others think technology will solve these problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to whether cities are livable, people's opinions vary. Some argue that pollution and congestion will cause severe environmental problems, which will make cities unlivable, while others believe that these problems will be dealt with through technology. From my perspective, although technology plays a significant part in solving environmental problems, governments’ implementation and individuals’ effort cannot be ignored. On the one hand, pollution and overcrowding worsen each other, directly damaging the livability of cities. Take India as an example. As we all know, India is now the country with the largest population in the world. Extremely crowding directly caused a serious problem of traffic congestion, and thereby increased the emission of carbon dioxide, which worsen air condition. Based on Global Environment Report in 2020, India’s carbon emission was about 256.7 billion tons, which increased serious health problems among Indians. Therefore, overcrowding will increase air pollution, so that do harm to people’s lives. On the other hand, modern technology can efficiently solve pollution and overcrowding issues. For instance, in Singapore, the government utilized intelligent traffic supervision system to control traffic flow, which had effectively reduced traffic congestion by approximately 20%. Meanwhile, Singapore government also enhanced electric cars, which decreased carbon emission, and in turn improve the air condition. In my opinion, there is no doubt that technology is beneficial to solve environmental problems, but governments’ implementation and individuals’ awareness are equally important. Governments should implement policies, such as reducing taxes on green energy enterprises, to guide these companies in researching and developing new energy. In addition, individuals also need to change their lifestyles, for example, choosing green travel can reduce carbon emissions. In conclusion, relying solely on technology has limitations. Only by the combination of technology, government efforts, and individuals’ actions can address environmental issues such as pollution and overcrowding, and in turn contribute livable cities.