Some people believe that individuals should be responsible for reducing pollution, while others think it is the responsibility of governments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In recent years, cutting pollution has become a topic of heated debate. Some people believe that it is everyone’s duty to avoid pollution, while others argue that the government sector should take the responsibility of tackling environmental issues. This essay will elaborate on both views and present my perspective. Supporters of individuals’ responsibility often argue that most people contaminate the world in different ways and ought not to stand aloof from it. They claim that being aware of the pollution is everyone’s responsibility, which should be an easy thing to do in our daily lives. For instance, not only basic ones such as not throwing garbage on the street, but also participating in activities like cleaning beaches, and many other environment-protecting campaigns. Therefore, it is understandable why some people state that we should be responsible for cutting pollution. On the other hand, proponents of the government’s duty contend that the taxes people have paid should cover the cost of environmental sustainability. The authority to set laws that the government possesses is what they think can cause a bigger impact if the funds are used properly. For example, there are already numerous laws in Taiwan to prevent exhaust fumes and emitted gases from the factories, such as carbon dioxide. Thus, it is clear why others support this perspective due to the resources and power the government has. Personally, I think the responsibility is on both individuals and governments. Though those opinions are all reasonable, they are somehow one-sided. If people and governments work together, reducing pollution will be extremely easy. In fact, these opinions aren’t contradictory, where governments can set laws to restrict the companies and citizens, while people can try their best to reduce the pollution individually. In my view, both individuals and governments should take the responsibility. In conclusion, both sides present compelling arguments regarding who takes the responsibility for reducing pollution. However, I think both of them should be responsible for maintaining the environment.