Some people believe that the age limit for the drivers should be increased to ensure road safety.

The responsibility of providing safety for citizens is on the shoulders of high-ranking officials. While some argue that changing the age limit can reduce the risk of road collisions, in my view, this regulation does not necessarily guarantee a safer society. On the one hand, imposing limitations on the age for driving license is imperative. To clarify, there is a definite link between age and the ability to control vehicles. The older people are, the more mature they are both mentally and physically, which allows them to handle a car much better than their younger counterparts. Moreover, the new generation is under pressure from their peers. They may drive at high speed to show off their abilities to their friends, since it gives them a sense of identity. On the other hand, focusing solely on age does not address road collisions. Indeed, other important factors must be considered, such as drinking alcohol, abusing drugs, and high speeds. For instance, some inconsiderate individuals drive while drunk, which not only endangers their lives, but also the lives of many innocent people in more fragile cars. Furthermore, stopping the young from driving can lead to dire consequences, such as illegal car driving, since the young tend to try new things. As a result, they may be encouraged to drive without permission. In conclusion, although the fact that age plays a vital role in the world of learning a new skill, it does not address decreasing accidents alone. In my view, authorities should introduce stricter laws and measures, instead of simply highlighting the age.