It has been observed that obesity among children has increased a lot in the modern period. Why is it so? How can this be solved?

In recent years, a significant increase in the number of obese children is reported. The main reasons for this can be attributed to the changing lifestyle practices and a growing trend of unhealthy food habits. The following essay delves into these reasons in detail before discussing viable measures to kerb its effect. One of the major reasons is sedentary lifestyle. As children are allowed to use internet and telecommunication systems unrestraintly, they are left with little social exposure. In addition, their engagement in physical activities has declined sharply. This can be rectified by fostering the young kids to play with their peers. Ensuring active participation of students in different games and sports can eventually ignite their interest in them. At houses, a scheduled and monitored screen time can reduce their dependence on virtual platforms such as video games. Secondly, the incorporation of junk foods into their meals has favoured the hike of obesity and overweight. As the frequency of dining from resturants has peaked today of all time, it affects the health of kids. It can be solved by following a healthy and balanced diet for children. Consequently, the rate of obesity and its associated health risks can be brought down. For instance, the schools offering meals, follow a diet chart prescribed by a dietician, which considers the dietary requirement of a growing child for their age. In conclusion, both an inactive lifestyle and improperly balanced meal plan contribute for the increasing rate of obesity among children. Encouraging physical exercises and a healthy food culture can resolve these issues to a greater extent. A combined effort from parents as well as schools can help to achieve this in a shorter duration efficiently.